Recent Film Reviews
Old Film Reviews
Navigation

The new album from Al Rose. Available at CD Baby,  iTunes and Amazon.

If you like the cut of our jib over here at The Moving World, please consider kicking a little something our way.

Journal Archive
« Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo | Main | Hugo »
Tuesday
Jul242012

Top 10, 2011

1.        Certified Copy 

What separates the "real" from the pretender?  And if you pretend for long enough, don't you become "real" in some way?  The borders between the real and the simulacrum are in play in Abbas Kiarostami's deeply moving “Certified Copy”, my favorite film of the year.  It's a man and a woman, he an art critic, she an antique shopkeeper, talking over the course of one sometimes harrowing Tuscan afternoon.  Gradually something very curious happens: there is a shift, a morphing in their relationship until at certain point you feel like, "Right, what's going on here?"  This is perhaps the most surreal film I know of that operates utterly in a realistic style.  But that’s not what floors me about it, not why it was the most moving film of the year for me.  It’s because it is two intelligent people speaking, without dogma, trying very hard to get to something real, to the heart of the matter.  In the end nothing is settled, except that all you can be is who you "really" are.  And that has to be enough, and is.  

This was one of only two pictures this year I felt strongly enough about to go back to the theater and see again.  And the other was… 

2.         The Tree of Life

A boy’s life in 50s Texas, while elsewhere in the universe, explosions are creating new galaxies.  When held up against the birth of time and the farthest reaches of the universe, an individual life and death is at once put into perspective, and at the same time shown as something that, in its way, is just as exultant, epochal, and full of wonder.  This is filmmaking that is as free as I’ve always hoped it could be, an unspooling ribbon of time.

3.         Midnight in Paris

For everyone who's ever read “A Moveable Feast” and thought, right, Paris in the 20s: that was the time and place for me.  Woody Allen had me right from the opening montage, which gave me the uncanny sense that my own memories and mind's-eye views of Paris were being projected onto the screen. There's been a bit of backlash against this one recently on the grounds that Allen doesn't do much more with the concept of an American whisked away into the world of the Lost Generation every night at midnight than drop names and sketch sketches.  But the cameos are witty, and Allen has managed to do something truly remarkable: to get down on film something that is in the air in Paris, something to do with history and memory, romance and magic, and the tone for this fantasy is just right for capturing something so elusive: evervescent and light.  An homage to a Paris that is as much a state of mind as anything, and a reminder that the Golden Age is in us. 

4.         Drive

Ryan Gosling as a stunt man by day, getaway driver by night.  "Drive" is pulsating, electric, cheesy, sleek, ultraviolent.  Movie magpie art: Winding Refn snatches up shiny bits that caught his eye from movies of the past and weaves his own thing out of it, dense with pop allusions.  Riveting supporting work from Albert Brooks and Bryan Cranston. 

5.         Melancholia

A storehouse of the most unforgettable images of the year, and the truest movie I’ve ever seen about depression and its crippling downsward spiral, as embodied in the gorgeous body and wicked-smart performance of Kirsten Dunst, as well as by planet Melancholia on its collision course with Earth.  No one who’s had any experience with depression will scoff at that all-ameliorating metaphor.  I won't forget a nude Dunst serenely bathing in the moonlight of planet Melancholia, come to annihilate all.    

 6.         Hugo

This story about a boy who meets George Melies is a joyful homage to early moviemaking from Martin Scorsese, than whom cinema has no more devoted, loving preserver and keeper of the flame.  When he includes footage from early film in "Hugo" (not just Melies, but the Lumiere brothers, Porter, Harold Lloyd), it's as if he's saying to us, the modern audience: we must treat early film with care, it is a precious treasure, and here, I want to show you why: because it is alive.  His first children’s film, and one of his most personal. 

 7.         Mysteries of Lisbon   

The first four-and-a-half hour film I’ve ever seen at the theater.  The passage of time becomes part of the experience.  Though playful Brechtian touches are interwoven throughout, this is a more straightforward narrative than other films I've seen by Raul Ruiz, who died this year.  An orphan, a noble-woman, a priest, a highwayman, one level of story atop another.  You move through one layer until a character begins to tell a story and you drop down into the next level, burrowing deeper and deeper into the web of interlinking stories and identities, never getting lost.  Of its many, may moments, there is never a dull one.   

 8.         The Trip

Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon play sly versions of themselves in my favorite comedy of the year, Michael Winterbottom’s lastest amalgam of documentary and fiction.  Banter and verbal volleys fly as our boys tour the restaurant inns of Northern England, from the one-upmanship as to who does the best Michael Caine to Coogan's sadly funny exegesis on the brilliance of Abba's "The Winner Takes It All".  The film becomes surprisingly poignant.     

9.         Tabloid

Sex!  Mormons!  Bondage!  Kidnapping!  Another fascinating, funny documentary from Errol Morris, who as always is concerned with notions of "the truth," but amused more than ever here by its strangeness.  In Joyce McKinney he found a character no fiction writer would dare invent.  It makes me think of something I once overheard Christopher Hitchens say at a conference: "The truth never lies, but when it does lie it lies somewhere in between". 

10.       Uncle Boonme Who Can Recall His Past Lives

In rural Thailand a spirit returns in the shape of a big hairy Yeti to sit and visit with only mildly disconcerted relatives.  A little snapper fish performs cunnilingus on a woman in a woodland pond below a waterfall.  People watch as they become disembodied from their own bodies and step away from themselves.  Apitchatpong Weerasethakul (or "Joe" as he was known when he studied in Chicago) gives us an acceptance of many levels of existence at once. 

 Honorable mentions:

Terri, Meek's Cutoff, Life, above all, Young Adult, Bridesmaids

 -- December 22, 2011

References (132)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.
  • Response
    Football is truly one of the biggest sports in America. It has a important following.
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: soldes sac lancel
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: easy flirt lancel
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: uGG tresko
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: Herre sko UGG
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: kvinder uggs
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: the best indexer
    Very good Web site, Maintain the great work. Thank you so much!
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    I am looking to start my own blog, but I want to make sure it is on a popular site where people will read it. I plan on discussing sports, video games and whatever else is interesting at the time. What are the best/most popular sites to blog on?.
  • Response
    Response: zovi coupons
    I've heard that there are some issues with character limits on the PS3 web browser. Has this problem been fixed? Would I be able to type out long blog posts on the PS3 web browser?.
  • Response
    the moving world - old reviews - top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Is there a way you can have your own blog site instead of contributing to one already made.. I have no idea how a blog works? How do you pay for it? How do you start one? Please help! It would be much appreciated! Thank you!.
  • Response
    Response: google first page
    How do I delete computer passwords from a different user on my computer?
  • Response
    Response: roofing product
    I was planning on starting the guide with wordpress..
  • Response
    Response: website
    I am trying to get my articles published in a newspaper or magazine. How do I protect my work? .
  • Response
    Response: yasmin lawsuit
    I follow all the installation instructions, after downloading, but Mozilla Firefox blocks the installation..
  • Response
    Response: k9 advantix
    I want to start a website for my Roller derby team, all we have is a myspace right now. How can I start a website that has a dot com, or html, etc, that I can design on my own, and keep up on my own so that we can actually ...
  • Response
    Response: cheap seo services
    Is there a way you can have your own blog site instead of contributing to one already made.. I have no idea how a blog works? How do you pay for it? How do you start one? Please help! It would be much appreciated! Thank you!.
  • Response
    Response: pizza hut coupons
    How do i add third party widgets to free wordpress blogs ?
  • Response
    I am asking for my mother. She doesn't necessarily want to make money off them, her purpose is to use her blog (once popular) and use it as references to possibly help her get a newspaper article. She has a title for one called "Answers to Life's Problems". Where can she ...
  • Response
    Response: Mike Honari
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: All Euro Garage
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    I plan on starting a blog and would eventually like to bring in ad revenue, should I start out on a free website or should I buy a domain?.
  • Response
    Response: locksmith car
    In other words, how do i search for blogs that fit what I want to read about? Does anyone know how to BROWSE through blogs by subject or whatever on blogger?.
  • Response
    Someone said that you had to buy a domain, or your blogs weren't seen by everybody, is that true? Do you know what a domain is? IF not do not answer please..
  • Response
    Response: attract hot woman
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: gold investment
    I'm looking for a nice digital camera under or around $200 for the purpose of blogging (as in wordpress, blogger, etc). I'm trying to get a blog which will be based around the daily photos I take despite the fact that I'm not really a photographer but only doing it for ...
  • Response
    I'm studying Journalism at the University of Minnesota, and I am looking for a good website to start blogging on. I'm mostly looking for a good sports blogging website, but a music website would also be of interest. I've heard about Bleacher Report, is that one of the main sites?.
  • Response
    Am new to blogging. So would like to know more about blogs..
  • Response
    Response: SEO Company
    How do I post to my wordpress blog from my desktop, without 3rd party software?
  • Response
    I am at a crossroads in my career. I am in the middle of applying for law school, but I really want to write. Is there a field that can combine the two, or do I choose one over the other? I am not looking to practice law, that much I ...
  • Response
    Response: pet vaccines
    Where can I find free images?. Which images are usually considered free?. When is it ok to insert a picture from a website?.
  • Response
    How can I get new free layouts for blogspot, without using Webfetti?
  • Response
    Response: self directed ira
    Can i protect my blog content copyright without registering it to copyright departmen? please help?
  • Response
    Response: gold ira ivestment
    My website is on a remote server, I have copied all the files from their remote host server. How do I now configure MAMP to see this as a local copy of wordpress so I can edit it and try out different themes. . Please help. I am pulling my hair ...
  • Response
    I was thinking of starting a blog so I did some research into it on the internet and came across a lot of stuff that talks about legal issues and blogging. I'm not planning on blogging about controversial issues, (my blog would focus on posts about books, movies, culture, theater, music ...
  • Response
    Response: pet pharmacy
    I am working on an educational website and the owners wanted an article section where I put articles they indicate on the site. The articles come from news/magazine and other online article/new sources. I have been listing ?Article Taken From: (URL)? and a link to the original article. I thought that ...
  • Response
    Response: secludedloans.com
    How to transfer a Joomla website from one computer to another? from one host to another?
  • Response
    I'm wanting to start a blog for my photography business. What free blog would be best?.
  • Response
    Response: spot silver
    Also, what degrees (if anyone) would be required to be an independent creative writing teacher?.
  • Response
    Response: Michael Honari
    There are thousands of blogs that requires comments on them. What is the intention of blog comments?
  • Response
    What is the best free blog for a photographer to use?
  • Response
    I have heard of blogs and kind of know what they are. My question is what do you write on a blog, like stuff thats on your mind or just whatever? And what websites can i logon to to start blogs?.
  • Response
    I have a song [mp3 file] and i want it to automatically play when you enter my wordpress blog. On all the pages if possible but preferably just on the homepage if simpler. I'm new to wordpress so it might be tough but if anyone can confirm it's possible and perhaps ...
  • Response
    I'm interested in making my own music blog and I'm constantly looking through many music blogs throughout the day finding new music first before other people that I know. But how exactly do those blogs find that music first? Can I really start by just posting the music I find on ...
  • Response
    I would like to save all my blog posts on wordpress ?
  • Response
    Response: he said
    Hi I am trying to preview articles from blogger on a separate site, where the most recent article would show up and could link to the blog itself. I have googled enough and read about rss. I can code html, xml etc. I would really appreciate any help.
  • Response
    LOL, Are you serious?
  • Response
    Response: Plumbers Dublin
    How can you tell if a video has copyright content or not?.
  • Response
    Response: right here
    Should I submit a writing portfolio to Columbia University if I plan on being a creative writing major?
  • Response
    I've heard that there are some issues with character limits on the PS3 web browser. Has this problem been fixed? Would I be able to type out long blog posts on the PS3 web browser?.
  • Response
    Starting with registering the domain and designing the layout.
  • Response
    Response: super fast reply
    I'm trying to start up a small blog, primarily to hold a few short stories I've written and get feedback, but also for various other blog-type activities. This won't do me any good if I can't get my words where people can read them.. . Blogspot is preferred, but anything allowing ...
  • Response
    Is downloading a copyright content through rapidshare & megaupload is illegal in uk?
  • Response
    Response: Pass my Test
    I want to change my home page to another page with wordpress, is it possible?.
  • Response
    I bought a new wordpress blog but it doesn't have the blog stats which shows site hits on it. The blog has over a million hits so I need it. And blog stats are on my other wordpress blog so where is it on my new one?.
  • Response
    Response: healthy hair
    Can my blogs be seen by others even if I do not buy a domain name?
  • Response
    How do you make the navbar in blogger come back?
  • Response
    Response: social strategy
    How do I find someones blogger blogs with their email address?
  • Response
    I want to start my own website. Are there any places I can do this for free with minimum advertising on them? Or all free places have heaps of advertising?.
  • Response
    I use firefox and some nights at 12:00 exactly or 12:30 exactly, firefox stops working and does not load a page. The internet connection is perfectly fine though because it says excellent. I am connected to a home router and the signal strength is always excellent. I do not know why ...
  • Response
    Well I started my blog in the beginning of March, I have 21 different entries already. How soon do you think the web crawler will pickup my blog and index it into the search engines ?.
  • Response
    I have a blog on blogger and every time i go to my blog it counts it as a page view even when im logged in. How do i make it only count the views from other people?.
  • Response
    Where students and I can post answers for others students.. Somewhere people can get answers for their quizes and tests.. No sarcastic answers or anything.. If enough people say yes, then I will definetely start one and send those people the link to the blog..
  • Response
    Hi all - I have a straight-up HTML website that I'd like to transition to Joomla. If possible, I'd like to install Joomla into a subfolder and create and test the site there, while keeping the existing site functioning until I'm ready to move it over. Is this possible?. . Thanks!. ...
  • Response
    Response: term insurance
    I have a degree in psychology, which I have found to be useless. And I am planning on going back to school and getting a Masters in Creative Writing, because I enjoy writing and would love to learn more techniques to make myself a better writer. I am worried, however, that ...
  • Response
    I have a limited account and an administrator account on Windows XP. I would like to import all of my Firefox settings from my Limited Account to my Admin Account so they are exactly the same..
  • Response
    Response: click here.
    How do I add the Google Analytics code to a Joomla website?
  • Response
    What is the easiest way to copy my WordPress blogs to a new hosting company?
  • Response
    Response: content
    How do i build a blog without using blogger or any of those websites?
  • Response
    I haven't a clue how to use Wordpress and Comicpress to create sites and publish comic strips! Please help. Do you know of a good walkthrough? Thanks much!.
  • Response
    I cut a movie into 10 minute parts and uploaded to youtube, i only had uploaded two parts by the time i got a copyright notice. How can i upload movies without it getting deleted?.
  • Response
    How do i put the blog comment approval on my myspace to approve blog comments before posting them?
  • Response
    Response: social media plans
    I have been a yahoo users for some years now. I am only starting to make use of the tools which they provide, one of which being blog posts. I have written a blog and would like to know if my blog posts are being seen by others. If not then ...
  • Response
    When is it time to purchase a new computer?. . Some people I have talked to told me its good to purchase a new computer every 2 years however that could be expensive for most people. I always thought every 4-5 years.. . What is your opinion on this?. . The ...
  • Response
    Response: house
    I need to start a website what needs to be dynamic in regards to content and ability to run auctions and connect to payments functionalities. Can anyone advised of a suitable application / ISP/Hosting/ practical guides to allow me to under take this progress.. . Regards. . Khalidnz.
  • Response
    Response: click this link
    Should I start a blog or website for addiction/recovery related information?
  • Response
    Response: seo web hosting
    The greatest organic work around
  • Response
    i want to put the blog comment approval on my myspace, but i cant figure out how to do it. some one please help. .
  • Response
    I just posted my first blog on blogspot. How will people find it? Do i have to give them the link, or can just anyone find it?.
  • Response
    Response: original site
    I am interested in advertising a new social networking site. I have never wrote a Blog before. How should I write this? . And where do I go to write a Blog. This is all new to me and I want to start rocking.. Thanks..
  • Response
    I always hear that Fire fox is better than Internet Explorer and its faster safer ect....But what are the bad things about firefox?.
  • Response
    In other words, how do i search for blogs that fit what I want to read about? Does anyone know how to BROWSE through blogs by subject or whatever on blogger?.
  • Response
    get the greatest self employed health insurance anywhere
  • Response
    Response: seo valencia
    go here for greatest como posicionar una pagina web anywhere
  • Response
    How to configure joomla that can retrieve the data from mysql?
  • Response
    avec code reduction sosh mars 2013, code reduction
  • Response
    Response: useful site
    I am new to blogging. How do I add a subscribe function to my site so new post will go to their email?
  • Response
    I want to change my home page to another page with wordpress, is it possible?.
  • Response
    I want to start a blog written by a fictitious character commenting on politics, current events, news etc..How?.
  • Response
    Response: Seo Company
    If you say admit to crimes (real or not real) on blog posts, can you be reported to the police and be tried on what is written online?. What if the crime was just a lie, and its a supposed crime you did in another country?.
  • Response
    Response: seovolución
    How can I find who publish links from my blog posts to facebook?
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: payday loan online
    how do u put u're own pics for the background? also how do u put music?.
  • Response
    Im a computer engineering student but i am planning to shift to other programs if computer engineering will not have a licensure/board exam.. i want to be a registered computer engineer!.
  • Response
    Hey guys, I know not many people use Blogspot anymore, but I'm trying to add some music to may page. I keep finding really bad explanations for how to upload music. I've already uploaded my music onto various websites so they are in URL format, but I don't know where to ...
  • Response
    How do I start a website with minimum or no advertsing for free?
  • Response
    It happens with out my knowledge. This leads me to lose my bookmarks, settings and is such a nuisance. How do I stop FireFox from losing my settings and bookmarks? Thank you..
  • Response
    Response: tecnicas seo
    click here for top quality posicionamiento web en buscadores anywhere
  • Response
    The greatest dog arthritis relief available
  • Response
    Can Wordpress host a guide to a mmorpg game with probably hundreds of pages?
  • Response
    get best posicionar web available
  • Response
    go here for greatest joint supplements available
  • Response
    Response: engine
    click here for top quality searchenginewatch work available
  • Response
    How do I start a website? I know that I have to buy a domain or something like that?
  • Response
    Response: renting property
    What are some really good poetry blogs or websites to post journal entries?
  • Response
    If my background image was labeled for commercial reuse can I claim copyright on all other content?
  • Response
    Wow! That is an appealing slant.
  • Response
    see here for top quality dog arthritis treatment available
  • Response
    Response: abandoned property
    I am going to start a website in Australia but a website with same concept is already exist in UK and patented?
  • Response
    Response: greek property
    Would becoming a paid blogger be a good idea to get money?
  • Response
    The top quality experto seo available
  • Response
    click here for top quality posicionamiento natural around
  • Response
    Response: more info here
    I wanted to translate some articles from a foreign magazine and I was wondering if its legal to post them online..
  • Response
    How do I start a website for free or cheap?
  • Response
    I'm looking for a free or cheap webhost to move my Joomla website to from my localhost. I want a webhost that doesn't use Fantastico as its only method of installation? Any suggestions?.
  • Response
    If you like reading a blog, what kind of interesting things that make you like that blog? Give me your favorite blog links too..
  • Response
    I started writing a book, and I wanted to put the chapters of the book on a different blog then my other less thrilling post. I don't know how to, though,.
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: Matthew Sample
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: coffee bean pills
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: pinterest
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    The Moving World - Old Reviews - Top 10, 2011
  • Response
    Response: Jody Overlock
    I found a great...

Reader Comments (1)

Like the High Fidelity of movie rankings ... must agree with several of the top ten movies of this year and looking forward to seeing the others. My personal #1 would have to be Tree of Life, but very interested in seeing Certified Copy.

January 3, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterGabe Judd

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Post:
 
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>